Learning day by day

By EmmaF

First Day at School

What an excited little boy. The day has finally come after starting the countdown 69 sleeps ago!

He woke at 06.15 but managed to stay in bed until 06.45, then he leaped into bed with me for a snuggle and whispered "I am going to school today!". He insisted on getting dressed before I had my shower and fought manfully with the buttons (he can do them but the button holes are very stiff).

Carys woke and dressed and after breakfast I took photos in the garden, but this is the traditional blip pose so that comparisons can be made.

Carys dropped off at her gate, Will and I walk to reception. He walked in with no issues, we found his peg for his PE bag and coat. His drawer was in the classroom so he put his bag away, water bottle away and then I lost him in the mêlée of people. He was sat quite happily at the computer playing away! I extracted him from the computer so that we could find his name badge, settled him at a table hammering shapes and pins into cork, gave him a kiss and left.

I next saw him at playtime as he and his friend A were waving madly at me from the Pen with huge smiles on his face.

When I picked him up at 1pm he was full of it. He had had a wonderful day and now wants to count sleeps until he can go all day. Homework was done quite quickly. He had to draw himself, for Will that is quite a task as he doesn't draw, he colours beautifully, but refuses to draw. Obviously, when asked to draw by a teacher it is a little different from being asked to draw by me!

We played at the soft play this afternoon, Will's choice, he could have gone to the park and it was beautiful weather but this week is about him choosing the afternoon activity.

Well done my little boy. You dealt with today brilliantly, as I know you will deal with the challenges school will throw at you. I am struggling to believe how much you have grown up in the last few weeks. Love you to bits and am very proud of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.