My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Re:- 1st September Blip........

..........."Textures" was obviously far to easy to guess!! - anyway, it was a straw hat and here is all of it.

Even if I never wear it again, I shall always treasure it as a momento of our holiday in Hawaii and California in June and July when all our luggage went missing for several days!

I felt SO sorry for Anni - she knew this was going to be my last holiday in the States - she had even arranged the Hawaii part of it as a surprise and Himself gave me that part as a present - she so wanted it to be perfect! She was far more upset than me - to me, though it was very annoying, it was all part of the adventure!

Anyway, my usual "holiday" hat was in the missing luggage and she bought me this one to replace it.

Makes me feel like the typical Edwardian lady with a basket of flowers over my arm and a pair of scissors in my hand oh so delicately snipping off flowers for the house! This image was very popular in watercolour paintings of that era. The paintings were very much sought after at the time but over the years, are now regarded as a bit too sweet and romantic!

Another sunny day though I haven't seen much of it - still trying to rest the leg!! - but have had doors and windows open since 7.00am so at least have had some fresh air - only the slightest breeze and at one time the temperature was 70 Deg F.

Anni and Himself left for their holiday this morning but haven't texted me yet to say they have arrived - sometimes it can take as long as the flight to travel from the Airport to the Hotel. Hope they have a great time - they both deserve it!

Hope you all have had a good day.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.