I didn't know - HONEST.

I heard, by chance, last night, that there was a "rather fine Harvest moon" out tonight.
Long time no see, so I nipped out for a bit of a decko.
I've developed a rather disgusting habit of building up a backlog and back-blipping a few days at a time.
I say "last" night since I'm doing this "tomorrow" morning.

As a general rule, even in the days of "Emergency", I have a choice: same last night.
It was only this a.m. after doing my homework that I discovered...

"Last night you may have noticed a particularly bright full moon, but what caused it?
The supermoon phenomenon, which occurs when a full or new moon makes it closest approach to the Earth on its elliptical orbit, last night coincided with the Harvest Moon over the British Isles.

The Harvest Moon is the full moon that falls closest to the Northern Hemisphere’s autumnal equinox on 22 September, its name deriving from the light it allowed farmers to gather their crops during harvesting.

Throughout the year the moon rises, on average, about 50 minutes later each day. However, near the autumnal equinox this difference shrinks to only 30 minutes as the moon’s orbital path makes a smaller angle with the evening horizon.
"

This is, for me, the equivalent of 3 "Double tops" or, better yet "Bull's eyes".
1. Practically EVERY time I have heard the words "Supermoon" I have known with cast iron certainty there'd be 10/10 cloud cover.
2. Not having heard in advance, the weather didn't know it had to change.
3. Not JUST a moon, but
A ) A Super moon.
B ) A Harvest moon which it's taken me 72 years to find the exact meaning of.
C ) I haven't done a Moonshot since this one, and I rate tonight's as a wee bit better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.