The State I Am In

By Shuji

Wawel

I went to a barbershop this morning, which was scary experience. The staff doesn't speak English at all and I don't understand Polish at all. We, therefore, had the only one communication tool, gesture. Probably he had never cut Japanese hairs hence it must have been difficult for him to cut my hair. He might have been struggling when he showed a unpleasant face and my hair got shorter and shorter. I said nothing because I didn't want to hurt his artisan spirit. As a result, new hairstyle is acceptable and much better than the previous one, especially during a long journey.
Having had lunch at a food bar, I went to a laundromat. I had no idea how to run those Polish machines, but luckily a man helped me a lot.
Then I sat down a bench in Planty, which is a park surrounding the old town, and started reading. Some were picking chestnuts up. An old man explained something about chestnuts, but I didn't understand. He once left there but came back to me and explained again, but I was none the wiser.
After that I bought a Kraków local bread and sat down on the bank of WisÅ‚a, where you can enjoy the view of Wawel as shown in the photo. As there was relatively quiet and peaceful, I spent nearly one hour.

25th April, 2015
Extra photos are of a girl picking chestnuts at Planty, and a horse-drawn carriage in Krakow Rynek at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.