Down by the Riverside

Today I took my bike on the train and joined the cycle track at Partick towards the city. I cut back over the Clyde Expressway pedestrian bridge to the Riverside Museum in time to see the Govan Ferry departing on its 60 second journey to the south bank. You can see passengers heading for it in the top picture. It is a free shuttle service - ‘shuttling’ to and fro continually throughout the day.

Further downstream are modern flat developments. The Govan Ferry used to be a Glasgow institution and was a larger vessel. This motor boat was reinstated during the Games but has been extended due to popular demand until 21 September. I must use it to drop in to the Old Parish Church and see for myself its medieval Govan Stones commemorating the power of Strathclyde's rulers in the 9th-11th centuries. What's all this worry about Scotland becoming independent?! Strathclyde was independent then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.