Dreams DO come true!

We were on the road by 7am; the I-15 (which is the main road into Vegas) is still closed, so we were meant to travel back the way we came.
However, there had been another landslide on one of the detour roads, so we got the added bonus of driving down part of Route 66 through Seligman.

We've seen many programmes on tv about Route 66; in particular Seligman, and the town's hero, Angel Delgadillo.
Thanks to him, the town has a booming tourist trade.

It's been a 25 year dream of Mr A's to visit Route 66, so our unexpected visit today was really special.
The highlight though has to be meeting Angel himself. He's 87 now but still as passionate about his store and the town.
He was so friendly, taking time to speak with everyone and posing for photos with a cry of 'cheese, cheese, cheese'!

We told him we are hoping to be back next year to see the whole of the Mother Road by Harley; his face beamed.

We got souvenir T-shirts & Mr A bought a Route 66 plaque for the panic room and Angel signed & dated it.
We also left a five pound note with the cashier, signed & dated by both of us. There are signed notes of all currencies stapled to the walls & ceilings of the store; we couldn't miss the opportunity to add ours while we were there.

It's just a shame we only had a 30 minute stop there, but since we had a 10 hour drive (it was 5pm when we reached Vegas) covering 547 miles

Next up was my dream come true; I finally got to see fabulous Las Vegas Nevada!
I don't know how many years I've wanted to see this place; it was on my wish list for my 40th birthday, but circumstances at the time didn't allow.
As gutted as I was at the time, I feel now is a much better time as I now have the man of my dreams to share it with me.

I had warned Mr A....I couldn't help myself....as we got off the bus in Vegas I burst into tears! It's the realisation that I'm FINALLY here, after years of wishing.

Since I don't think you want to see my teary face, today's blip is a selfie of us with Angel in his Seligman store.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.