Hairy Balls

It is a large plant; over 6 feet tall, and in late summer, when covered in 2-inch, golden green, hairy seedpods, it is certainly a conversation piece. Commonly known as the Hairy Balls plant although it is also referred to Family Jewels Milkweed, Swan Plant or Balloon Plant.

I spotted it coming out of art class today and at first, I thought I was seeing things. Then I laughed and got my camera out. I asked my art teacher what the name of the plant was and he said Hairy Balls. I figured he was just pulling my leg so I went home and looked it up. He was right.

After art class, I went to three different stores in search of a compact rain jacket. Something that would fit into my luggage and not take up a lot of space. It was tough because they have already started putting out winter coats in the shops. I guess I will give a look online. I know the travel catalogs sell them but they charge so much money for something so simple. First stop, Amazon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.