CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Sweet William

Misty day to start with then warming and very sunny later.

Today was another session in Hospital connected to the Cardiac Drug trial I have been on for six months. More bloods taken, ECG, echo cardiographs, Blood pressure and coffee/biscuits for being good! Actually today marks the day I stop taking the actual tablet - I go back in a month to check how I have been having come off the drug/placebo (I will never know which it was).

My wife was away at a Retired Ministers and Spouses gathering in Perth, which I obviously missed out on, so I was spent the afternoon sunning myself in the garden and reading. I blipped this rather bright Sweet William or Dianthus barbatus .

Legend has it that it is named after Prince William, Duke of Cumberland. As a result of the Duke's victory at the Battle of Culloden and his generally brutal treatment of the king's enemies, it is also claimed that the Scots sometimes call the flower "Stinking Billy". This is probably untrue and it may not be 'politically correct' to mention this with one week to go before we vote for Independence - oops - or not as the case may be.

However, it is a lovely flower and I hope it brightens your day a little.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.