A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Shoreham, Kent. SAVED!

Today's blip is of another local village near me. Shoreham in Kent has the River Darent running through it, a chalk cross on a hill side and a little Battle of Britain museum. It also was the home of Samuel Palmer a local artist of the 19th century.

This village has been under threat of having an official council run gypsy/traveller camp built next to it. This village is in an area of natural beauty and suffers from too many day visitors (like myself...) already. Adding 15 'pitches' next to the last houses in the village would have been unbearable to many.

Tonight the local council and the village managed to fight the planners, until at least 2026. This doesn't prevent the area still having to find 72 pitches across the region so these people can do what they do.

I have added most of my snaps around the village onto my Flickr page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.