Sculpture seat

What a day! Had a really full-on day at work, stayed late again to try and get stuff sorted (a meeting this morning and an appraisal this afternoon had really eaten into the time I needed for all the other stuff I had to do), then ran for my train at Cannon Street only to find that it had been cancelled. Jumped on the next one to London Bridge, where I was faced with a sea of people waiting on the platform. Discovered that a couple of platforms had been cordoned off, and saw lots of police officers and station staff heading up the end of the platforom. A couple of minutes later, they evacuated that whole side of the station. Given today's date, I have to say it set my hairs on end and made me want to get out of there pretty quickly. It was all very calm though - as ever in London, everyone just seemed focused on working out an alternative route home.

Finally made it home about quarter to eight, having walked back over to Bank and caught the DLR to Lewisham, and then a bus to Blackheath. Apparently a man had been making threats on a train (claiming to have a bomb in his luggage) - and presumably it was taken extra seriously due to today's date.

Anyway, back to my photo - I was chuffed to spot this workman taking a break here this morning - and very handy that he had his back to me so I could snap away unobserved :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.