Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Ly love

They just get each other.

"How did your day go, Callum?" I asked as the two were splashing each other in the shower.

"Good,", then he continued "One of the boys wasn't nice about Reuben's hearing aid and glasses".

At such moments, I feel a tinge of sadness, that depth of understanding that Reuben's differences are once again apparent, brought to the surface in a life when in my eyes, those distinctions seem to float beneath to the depth of invisibility. If he saw the expression across my face I do not know, but he continued,

"But I said Reuben's REALLY funny! And then he was nice and then he liked him!".

Could he ever have a better advocate?

Today Callum took some great shots in the garden. He's understanding composition and focus points and I saw him check the LCD screen afterwards and note, It's all grey, so I had an opportunity to teach him about exposure. I showed him the fix and he saw the difference in the next frame. A few books arrived today in the mail including two children's books on Ruby Bridges and one I picked up today for Reuben, Manners are fun, along with a marble magnifying glass for Callum from Anthropologie. Delighted to see their happy faces with the surprises. I will add that maybe I was trying to hide the evidence of my shipping trips from him, but he went digging in my bags, presumably to see if there was anything more for him. Nice companions: the hair dressers then clothes shopping.

Can I contain my excitement for the big news! The Fedex man tried to deliver my Canon 85L today. I mean, I should have stayed at home all day in anticipation. Oh, the waiting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.