Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Sugar Factory Demolition

On January 28, I blipped the sugar factory that is taken down at the moment. When it was in use, production amounted to 250.000 tonnes of beet sugar with 250 employees. After the 2008/2009 campaign, it was shut down.

Although it produced a strong sweet smell when it was in use, which was noticable for miles around the factory, most people in Groningen are sad the factory is being demolished. I have been told that the factory chimney will be left in place as it forms a characteristic landmark for the city.

Today's blip shows part of the factory in its current state. I didn't see any workers on the site; I would have liked to have one of them in the shot for reference. However, you can distinguish the individual bricks of the building and they are normal-sized. Click here for a view of the factory when it was still in use (links to Wikipedia; it's not my shot).

It's the start of another week; enjoy it!

Edit: I found a movie on Youtube showing part of the demolition work: taking down the lime kiln (kalkoven). Thought it would be nice to add a link to that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.