From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Time to dust off my broomstick...

Well, I don't have to fly back to Brum until Sunday so I shall make the most of what time I have left. I'm not minding quite as much as usual because I'll only be there for two weeks and then I'll be back in Scotland for a fortnight! It could well be an independent Scotland too. I think I'd go crazy if I had to watch the last few days' run up to the big vote. It's very stressful!

Today was a warm and slightly misty day and it was lovely to have today booked off as time in lieu. I'll probably do the same next Friday to get my hours down to an acceptable level. I slept until 7am which is good for me and after getting ready and then going upstairs to watch Jeremy Vile while having breakfast, mom and I caught the X77 to Glasgow. We hadn't gone for any reason really but I always enjoy the bus ride. We wandered around John Lewis after having a lovely lunch (vegetable quiche and salad washed down with tea) and then went outside.

It was nice to have no plan of action. We walked to the end of Sauchiehall Street and then came all the way back to walk the length of Buchanan Street where I turned off to visit Cone Man again where a 'Yes' sticker had been added to the horse's behind!

Go large!

I was going to visit the cashpoint as usually I love to stock up with Scottish currency but here is a serious question for you - if Scotland becomes independent next Thursday, will I have more trouble than usual spending my notes in England? I'll be interested to know what you all think.

Anyway, we caught the bus back to Ayr after that and wandered up to Tesco Express for chocolate and milk. On the way back from there, I took a couple of booklets from a very nice 'Yes' man who I certainly wouldn't have said 'No' to and I took a 'Yes' badge from his smiling companion.

We popped into Hourstons after that and my lovely mom bought me a gorgeous pair of boots that are a lot smarter than my walking boots which she hates with a passion!

That's all for now. I was going to see if there was an Ayr sunset this evening but it was too misty and Arran can't even be seen. You have to make do with Cone Man!

Track? I was reminded of this great number earlier which was written by Robert Johnson in 1936. It's been covered by almost everyone over the years. I like this version by ZZ Top

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.