Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Liberty

And so another overstuffed week has flashed by, and the freedom of the weekend beckons enticingly with the prospect of continuing fair weather. I'm off to stay with Mum and Dad in Essex until Sunday, and we'll be meeting my sister Susan for lunch tomorrow. I'm really looking forward to seeing them all as it's been a few weeks since my last visit.

This golden galleon weather vane sails in the wind on top of the famous Liberty & Co store in Regent Street, which is very near to where I work. While finding out about its history, I discovered that the store's founder, Arthur Lasenby Liberty was born in Chesham, Buckinghamshire, where I live! The famous mock Tudor part of the store's buildings was constructed in 1924 from the timbers of two ships, HMS Impregnable and HMS Hindustan, which explains the maritime connection with the gleaming weather vane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.