Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Journeys

Lots of driving today, up and down the A12 and then back up it one more time for luck. I'm staying with Mum and Dad for the weekend, and we met up with my sister Susan for lunch at our favourite carvery.

When we got back this afternoon, I went to the local garden centre for a mooch around on my own. I came away with nothing apart from this photo of a rather autumnal bicycle which looks as if Nature is slowly overwhelming it with the greenery growing behind.

Dad's health is causing us concern just lately. He's not able to do any gardening and is fretting because it's looking a bit neglected when he likes to keep it nice and tidy. It doesn't help that everything has grown so much this summer - far more vigorously than usual because of all the rainfall in August. He has a gardener coming to do a tidy up next week, but at least I was able to water the (many) pots of geraniums for him this evening, and Mum and I deadheaded them too. I shall do some cutting back tomorrow, leaving the big stuff and the lawn for the gardener. Now that Mum and Dad are entering the realms of the very old, it's clear that my life journey is going to take some very different turns in the not-too-distant future. I know for sure now that the decision to leave full-time work next spring is the right one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.