In My World

By JoanneInOz

"Knock, knock."

Imagine opening your front door and seeing this huge kangaroo waiting outside.

This morning we went into MacLean, the next town inland from Yamba, where we are staying for the weekend. We found a lovely little market and bought a couple of things there, then went for a walk through the town of MacLean. Huge dark clouds rumbled in the background and before we made it back to the car, the heavens opened. I didn't think to bring an umbrella with us, but I must admit to having a bit of fun, dashing from awning to awning as the downpour eased, before finally arriving back at our car.

Then we went for a drive to Broom's Head, a very pretty off the beaten track coastal town. Along the way there were regular signs, warning to watch out for emus along the road. I told husband that if we spotted an emu, I would have to get a photo for today's blip.

Well we didn't see any emus, just this massive Big-Daddy of a kangaroo, waiting outside the door of a house. We pulled over to get a photo, the door of the house opened, and the lady of the house yelled out to us to wait a minute, she would feed it and I could get photos.

When I'm back at home again I will add a photo of the lady feeding the kangaroo to my blip folio, as those photos are on my camera. She yelled out to me (I wasn't game enough to get too close to this guy!) that he comes for food often, but she doesn't trust him, as he has pushed her before, when she has no food for him. She did pat him today though, just for the camera.

It's a lovely area here, close to the beach, yet there is a lot of typically Australian bush land and acreages nearby.

Note - for reasons unknown to me, my entry today is appearing on my iPhone sideways. I've tried rotating and republishing, without any luck. So if this photo appears for you on its side too, I will fix whatever the problem is when I'm home again and have access to the internet.

Extra Note ~ 16th September....I have changed the photo that I had here originally for one that shows the size of the kangaroo in a crouched position. The one I had hoped to change the first photo for, of the lady feeding the kangaroo, was rather dark, so I decided against it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.