Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

Country life

The day before yesterday I managed to develop a blister on my heel.  By now it seems to take control of the rest of my foot as well,  the area around it is already swollen.  Since I can now only wear slippers that are open at my heel it's over and done with the walks for now.

Fortunately today was national monument day.  A day when a lot of old buildings are open for viewing,  like churches and private homes. In Holland it is not common for churches to be open outside of the times when there is a service.

So I spent the morning reading my book and the afternoon by visiting some monumental buildings,  traveling by car. I ended my day out by having a delicious pancake.  Holidays spent on my own are not complete without a pancake....

The farm in the photo is a private home.  It didn't feel right to take photos on the inside,  although I now regret not having done so.  It looked absolutely beautiful,  with old wooden ceiling beams and lovely wall tiles. Alas,  maybe next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.