A day at the beach

I met Apothecary7 ( Frustrated Artist) , Beachcomber149 (The Way of Colour) and the lovely Maeve the deerhound on their way back from their holiday in Ullapool. It was so nice to meet another couple of blippers and the sun shone as we drank our tea.
After we said good bye I went for a walk along the beach.It was very warm but sill a bit misty and you could just about make out the lighthouse.

People from Aigas were exploring the rock pools. The rocks were covered in barnacles, mussels, limpets and winkles and there was plenty of interesting seaweed.

I spotted this common merganser or Goosander on one of the rocks and managed to creep up to get a closer photo. They are members of the sawbill family having a long , serrated bill used for catching fish.' It loves salmon and trout 'According the the RSPB site they are 'largely a freshwater bird' but I've seen several in the Firth at various times.
I also saw what I think was a white Black headed gull , it was completely white with just a black spot by it's 'ear' , a red bill and feet.

I sat on a rock and watched the tide creeping in and then noticed the haar coming in too and within minutes the whole firth was covered and you could nt see a thing.
Luckily I was on my way back by the time it had covered everywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.