Thunbergia alata, commonly called Black-eyed Susan

I have been stuck at my desk all day trying to catch up with all the deadlines. I really didn't expect it to take so long/ One of the deadlines was preparing the portraits I was asked to take which I had been slow to deliver. I did manage to get them prepared and delivered so that was a relief.

Helena cooked some lovely grilled salmon for dinner and I prepared a variety of mixed salad leaves and roasted some sunflower and pumpkin seeds. Whilst waiting for the grilling to finish I had a couple of minutes in the darkening light on the garden patio to snatch a few pictures most of which were rubbish. This wasn't much better but at least I have got a picture of one of the last flowers of the Black-eyed Susan, a climbing vine which has been struggling all summer. I love the intense colour but I don't seem to give it the care it needs to thrive. I will try again but I may revert to a blaze of morning glory plants next year, which are so generous with their flowers every day.

We are off to Berkeley castle tomorrow to visit the butterfly farm, which I hope will be as memorable as I think I remember it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.