CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

At the tropical Butterfly House of Berkeley Castle

We both agreed yesterday that another visit to Berkeley was a good idea for our Sunday outing today. We went two weeks ago to the Dr Jenner Museum, which is situated just beside the very old Berkeley Castle, and were reminded that when we last went to the castle we had both enjoyed the Butterfly House which is built in the grounds of the castle. On checking about it we found that the Butterfly House season will finish at the end of September so time was running out.

We got there about an later than intended and had a deadline for our return as Helena wanted to attend another play at 3pm which was part of the Stroud Theatre festival which she has been enjoying for the last few days.

Once inside the relatively small enclosure we were nearly over whelmed by the high temperature and humidity which is essential for the care of the butterflies. they use a large greenhouse space with nets enclosing the roof and the ventilators, so that none can escape. They have a few small birds flying about, with a selection of quail running around on the ground as well a menagerie of budgies and a pond with enormous freshwater fish, probably carp.

I love the tropical environment which reminded me once again of being on Penang island in Malaysia where I stayed for many months decades ago. The butteflies can fly about at will amongst the wide range of beautiful flowering plants, many of which I have kept as houseplants over the use. I loved to see Abutilons and streptocarpus, weeping figs and cannas. Most of them however I didn't recognise but many had masses of flowers which the butterflies need to consume the nectar for food. We were shown a couple of types of eggs which had been laid on specific plants by individual species of the butterflies. We also saw two huge caterpillars, one from The Owl butterfly which was enormous, as is the The Owl butterfly. I have added a picture of it, and its vivid three inch long green caterpillar form, to this Flickr gallery, as well as many other butterflies we saw. I do recommend a quick glance at them at least.

The butterfly I have shown here is an Harmonia Tiger-wing from South America, I think. I was intrigued by the mass of pollen which is sticking to the top of its proboscis (?). Have a LARGE look by pressing the 'L' key.

We had to leave for a while as I was sweating so much as I rushed around chasing huge butterflies like a mad collector. I only recorded a few of the many species, so I will have to go back in the next couple of weeks, and will take a tripod next time. Many of my shots were very rudimentary and I using a macro lens alone was rather frustrating given the light and the large amounts of shaded areas. But it was great fun and so lovely to see these exquisite forms of nature flying in a relatively natural habitat even if it is in such an enclosed space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.