Running late

It has been a very long day, starting the community engagement event at 9am in town which meant setting up a stall with information displays, whilst starting to talk to the people who were already starting to pass by. Then I had to take photos for use in the press release, which itself needed final tweaking, before going home to process the pictures and to send out the press release to the local papers.

At tea time I went to pick up Helena from work at Brimscombe and then we came home and I attended to more desk work. At 6pm I left for town again to attend a meeting about the development of a controversial prime building site, the former Market Tavern, where a new supermarket was being proposed. Town shop keepers had a chance to quiz one of the people trying to facilitate the development , and then a further meeting was to be held for the general public to ask their own questions.

I had to leave by 7-30pm for my last meeting on the other side of town where the Stroud Preservation Trustee's meeting was happening. As I reached Camilla's house which was the venue, dusk had nearly completely fallen. I stood in her gateway and looked up at Uplands' All Saints church and took a few snaps, of which this was one of the last.

The meeting finally ended at 10pm with a lot of ground covered and some major decisions made about local properties that are in great danger from neglectful owners. I had a bite to eat on getting home and decided to blip this. Tomorrow it is back to the beginning, with another few hours at the community event. Then it is home again and in the evening I am chairing the Finance committee meeting. Oh when will it end. All this work is voluntary and I am running out of steam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.