misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Comfy Cat

Oh, looks like dear PD Budd, the always "on" model, gets in the blip frame again.
It is rather soon to see him showing off before the camera; but it has been a rainy, changeable, cold day and I just felt like staying inside. So did PD.

Autumn has officially begun -- at least here, as far as I am concerned. Yesterday a windy cold front blew in. Then last night the first warning of the season's change as damp-cold weather seeped in through a few windows that I had forgotten to close. I awoke to a sharp kind of cold I have not felt in months.
The morning temperature was 10º so I turned the heat on for an hour and closed the windows.I also noticed that loads of newly fledged American goldfinches are lined up at the feeders. These are the last finches to build nests and hatch out their young. I like how Nature seems to have organized the feeding schedule starting with the chickadees through various kinds of finches, jays, doves, nuthatches and fining the pretty goldfinches. every bird get seed this way. So many flowers had seed heads for the finches to eat while in flight. I try to resist the urge to dead head flowers... except weeds. Some seeds heads stay around all winter for the birds. They also give me something to look at besides snow.
The weather person predicts near freezing on this coming Thursday night. It does seem early, but this is how we get the glorious Indian Summer colours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.