An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Village Hall...

...with the waning super moon (right hand side) and a major main road, (headlights, on the left) taken in the small hours last night (this morning).

No mist of fog but somehow I didn't check the lens and it was covered in a fine condensation as it had been in the rucksack and the cold night air suddenly hit it.

LookLARGE for the stars in the sky.

I like it, so left it, pretty much as it was. The black and white version came out surprisingly poor.

Lens is Nikkor D 17-35mm f2.8

"DERELICT THURSDAY"

I'm thinking of setting up and hosting a brand new Challenge on Blip.

With autumn on its way and holidays over I found myself thinking up the idea as I walked about some of Salisbury's less glossy streets this evening. We keep getting told that the economic recovery is on its way but I see no signs of it, even in this so-called prosperous south of England tourist town.

Entries will be any interpretation on the theme - black and white, colour, arty, documentary, snapped on an iphone or full-frame DSLR bolted to a tripod. Anything. An if you want to skip a week, or weeks, no problem.

Those living in the country could show the types of subjects us photographers have always liked to snap - tumble-down barns, or signs of poverty, such as the closed down pub or burned out cars used for joyriding.

As I have the time to administer the Challenge, I will look at all, provide the links to all the participants and award an honourary award to my favourite each week. There'll be no set categories or tasks, just to get out and taking pictures of everyday things that you probably wouldn't have chosen to see, let alone photograph.

It'll get us appreciating the uglier side of life and that there can be beauty in everything. It could also be to simply document an area near you and how it affects your neighbourhood.

I anticipate starting this coming Thursday. Anyone with further ideas and how to actually run and promote this Challenge, which I see running all autumn and winter, please let me know in your comments.

Thanking you all in advance!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.