CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Mono Monday: Time

Mono Monday: Time

Thanks to wetcoastbob for once again hosting the Mono Monday Challenge

As some of you may know (because I keep wittering on about it and I sometimes use bits as my Emergency Blips) we live in part of an old railway station.

Amongst other things, we are lucky to have most of the platform, along with 3 chocolate machines (which I have blipped already) and also a copy of an old timetable. I guess this dates back to the early 1950's or maybe the 40's as the line closed completely in 1951. It makes quite interesting reading – some of the stations have since disappeared as a lot of English railway stations were closed in the 1960’s.

It’s lucky the timetable is a copy, as when I went to take this photo just now I found that some ivy had insinuated itself across part of the timetable. When I tried to pull the ivy off it also pulled off some of the words and times.

Thankfully the previous owners left us a few copies, as we shall soon have to replace this one. We have lived in this house for 7 ½ years and we haven’t had to replace it yet, so that’s not bad going.

I've just noticed that the heading reads "Stratford on Avon" and not "upon-Avon". It was always "on" when I was a child, and has only relatively recently seemed to have evolved into "upon". If you look at the railway timetables now, they are all "upon-Avon". Even more confusing is that we have "Stratford-on-Avon District Council" but "Stratford-upon-Avon Town Council" !! I've also yet to find an old map that reads "upon". I blame the infiltrators trying to make it sound "better"! A sign of the times indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.