Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Southport Meerkat

Sunday was possibly the grimmest Valentine's day I've ever spent (although probably closely rivals 10 years ago, when I was in bed having just had my first full-blown nervous breakdown!!).

I spent the morning writing a difficult blog post, with tears streaming down my face. I thought a lot about a friend of mine with whom I'm not currently in touch, and sent a few anguished e-mails to another friend.

In between all this, the amazing Wonderspouse brought me cups of tea and massaged my shoulders and mopped up my tears.

He'd also bought me a Valentine's present. On the way home from Manchester (at Norton Canes) we espied a group of cuddly Meerkats, and he bought me one. Goodness knows how I managed to take a photo, but I did, so meet Southport Norton Meerkat (to give him his full name).

I called him Southport following my walk the previous Friday. I used to go there a lot when I was little because my Godmother (an old college friend of my Mother's) lives there. Maybe I'll look her up next time I have a bit longer in the area - I haven't seen her since my wedding.

My Mother was also delighted to hear I'd been - she and My Father were there last summer to enjoy some time by the sea for their wedding anniversary.

Southport is a good name for a Meerkat I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.