Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Planting Bulbs

Dear Diary,

I got 215 new daffodil bulbs planted. It is one of my favorite garden activities. There is such a sense of hope when you plant a bulb. Gardeners, I find, are very optimistic people on the whole. We all practice an act of faith every time we plant a seed or a bulb. We trust that if we care for them, they will reward us with their beautiful blooms.

A tiny hummingbird wandered into the potting shed yesterday and I was in a panic trying to find a way to lead it to safety. It came to rest on a high window and I had to get out the step ladder. I finally settled on placing a flower pot over it, which seemed to calm it down, and then sliding a dustpan under to carry it outside. After a moment, it flew away and my heart soared with it. I guess I need screens installed now!

"Though I do not believe that a plant will spring up where no seed has been, I have great faith in a seed. Convince me that you have a seed there, and I am prepared to expect wonders." -- Henry David Thoreau

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.