Return of the plonk

I'm very very enormously behind on my blipfoto entries.

but I just wanted to pop this one in from today because Tess had her first piano lesson and is interested in the piano again and that excites me.

I grew up in a house of music. My parents didn't have much of a musical background: Mum didn't play any instruments and Dad was self-taught, but music was valued and was important so we all had instrumental lessons in 2 instruments and were encouraged to practise every day. We all played the piano, and the sound of a piano being practised is like the soundtrack to my childhood.

I am irritated, distressed and bothered by a lot of noises but plinking and plonking and musical experimentation doesn't seem to bother me. It amuses me. It's familiar, and I'm really glad to hear it again. I watched Tess's hands on the keyboard and I saw the way her fingers naturally touched, stretched for and pressed the keys. She's over-thinking hand shapes and positions but I don't think she needs to - I think she has it just right.

Today was warm! Really warm!
I was outside until nearly dark this evening in a vest top, planting cauliflowers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.