Omar Khayyam, Euclid, Archimedes et al.

I simply never understood algebra, not a single letter, with one notable exception: E=mc² which I learnt at the age of 12 when I failed every Thursday morning to get at least 8 questions out of 10 correct in the Latin lesson, resulting in a caning after lunch, the number of errors appearing as red marks on my backside. However later as a student at the snooker table, the formula at long last produced worthwhile results.

Geometry & Trigonometry was something I always wanted to understand but sadly was linked with algebra. The choice of whether to follow an Arts or Sciences track was easy.

Today was one of those days when one regrets one's childhood mistakes. Pythagoras must have been spinning in his tomb, when he saw yesterdays wonderfully calculated work.

Was a nightmare correcting all my errors from yesterday and only darkness forced me to lay down the sines and cosines on the bee project. Will probably dream of lines and triangles tonight.

How on earth do bees manage to produce their incredibly accurate hexagons without all the tape measures, spirit-levels, laser-levels, calculators I have at my disposal?

Saga to continue tomorrow ....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.