Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Nor shall my sword...

No, I haven't gone all religious, although I could do with some Divine intervention to improve my lot in life.

I decided to forsake the river today and head in a different direction to explore photographic oppourtunities. St Paul's Catholic Church, on Park Street, with its brick facade and statue was an easy choice.

I did try to research the sculptor of the statue but drew a blank. There was probably a plaque somewhere giving all the details but I somehow managed to overlook it -- put that down to one of my senior moments. I told you I need Divine intervention.

I did find out that the church was built in 1940. To me, it looks like it was built later than that. But what do I know?

The title of this photograph comes from Jerusalem -- words by William Blake, music by Hubert Parry.

Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand,
Till we have built Jerusalem
In England's green and pleasant land.



Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.