A place in time

By Verbosa

Saturday strolling

Decided to take myself off for a walk today, so headed into town via the scenic route of first going uphill along the Hog's Back then down The Mount into Guildford town itself.

As I walked past St Nicholas's church I spotted the "open day - free entry" sign (free entry caught my eye!) so ventured inside. I was surprised to find this glorious interior and spectacular mural on the back wall behind the font. According to the lovely church stewards on duty they showed me photos from before 1920 where the whole church was covered in similar artwork - now sadly painted over with white emulsion!

I spent a quiet half hour or so in the church, lighting a candle for my Dad then partaking of a welcome cup of tea and small square of cake while talking to the stewards. It turned out it was the annual Heritage Weekend - where historic local buildings are open to the public for free entry. It was a shame I was not aware as I had left it too late in the day to visit any more and the majority did not open on Sunday. Hey ho..must try better next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.