Smoke Photography

While Igor was busy in his study with his credit card I was busy making his garage smell like a house of ill repute. I was determined to master the art of smoke photography. It's not for the faint hearted. I thought I would be ok with a torch, a black background and some smoke.

Suffice to say it's a lot more complicated than that and I ended up with a complicated set up involving off camera flash attached to a tripod at a precise angle of 45 degrees to the camera (I knew those protractors would come in handy), in the complete dark with the camera on full manual settings. I thought I might spend half an hour on it I spent three hours on it!!

The results weren't stunning but I think I reached a starting point from which I can get better. More reading needed!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.