EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

In the new BASTILLE Opera

This statue of Niki de Saint Phalle was the highlight of the building for me.
We saw La Traviata of Verdi and I had been so looking forward to it. We had dressed up, had had a delightful dinner before the opera and were full of expectation. Our seats had been very expensive, so I had hoped that they would be ok. The view of the stage was ok, but we were still very far away.
Then I must say, that I was very disappointed by the schmaltzy performance, uncreative stage scenery and I started seriously suffering in my knees after an hour as the legroom between the rows was less than between the most cheap economy airline seats. I have seen this opera at least 5 times in my life, in the Met, in Hamburg twice and the best performance was in Prague in the beautiful old opera house, where we saw the most modern and poignant interpretation of this opera.
So , La Bastille opera gets a C- at best from me. They have been trying to cram too many seats into the hall and into the four (!) balconies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.