KariDi

By KariDi

It's time... #indyref

Okay...I've been blipping AWOL, on a blip-holiday, lost the blip groove. Didn't stop photographing, just uploading, for many boring reasons (busy-ness, small operation leading to MANY dull pics, and did I mention the busy-ness?). But, this is a fairly good time to begin again (and with #Indyref Insomnia, I might even get some more blips up).

I spent tonight helping out with the Yes Edinburgh North & Leith Get The Vote Out work - passed Leith Rabbie wi' his Saltire on the way. Yes volunteers are ace - getting it done, laughing, cuddling, crying, hoping. Though, if Yes ENL knock on your door on Thursday, they might need a cuppa - I could've allocated them ridiculous acres of streets to cover, miles apart!

Anyway, some thoughts. I've been an independence supporter for as long as I can remember. And, in 1992, months into my first year at Uni, and barely 18, I joined the Scotland Demands Democracy march in Edinburgh, which followed the 1992 general election, the beginning of the vigil outside the proposed (at that time) Scottish Parliament and the first Declaration of Calton Hill. I found the newspaper clipping recently, was surprised to find the Declaration (and it's ancient blu-tack) too (to be seen in back blips to come), it begins:

"We the people of Scotland demand our inalienable right to live within an accountable and democratic form of government, and to determine the form that this system of government should take."

I have been inspired by the referendum, by the true grassroots activists, the amazing creatives, the amazing words of friends and strangers, and the generous spirit of debate. I've met, bonded, with Rainbow Warriors and Radicals, people who haven't voted for years or ever, new Scots, old Scots, people of every party and none.

My reasons for supporting independence are the same as they've always been: we need to become a fairer, more equal society; we need to support the vulnerable and stop demonising the poor and 'foreign'; we need to support (not undermine!) human rights; we need rid of the weapons of mass destruction sitting miles from Scotland's biggest population centres. Scotland is a country, we need to make our own decisions and our own mistakes. It won't be easy, there's a lot to fix, but we'll do it. We're kinda awesome.

Also in 1992, after the disappointment of the UK election, I wrote a poem, 'Call for Freedom', in the style of Robert Bruce's March to Bannockburn (Scots Wha Hae). It rhymed, and didn't exactly recommend a peaceful democratic process....(and was submitted as part of my CSYS English portfolio - passed).

The last line of the poem was "Let us reach out and grab hold of our destiny!"

It's time. Grab it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.