Dérive

By oneD

Two close for comfort

I hope, despite the massive predicted turnout, that the fate of the UK does not come down to a few votes, or even........

.................!!300!!...................


My grandfather, from Dundee refused to fight for the 'English' in the first world war by avoiding the call-up because he was 'friendly with the recruiting sergeant' - exactly what that meant I don't know.

My father also born and bred in Dundee, served with the RAF and was stationed at Biggin Hill at the height of the Battle of Britain. He was fervently Scottish but never spoke in Nationalist terms.

I've always thought of myself as a Scot but was brought up in England. I would vote Yes emotionally but I'm very unclear about what the long term costs or benefits would be in practical terms to a break up of the Union.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.