Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Dolly's Opinion

Things at work have been kind of crazy the last few days. On Monday the company I work for announced a very generous 'Early-Out', or 'Voluntary Redundancy' in British-Speak.

I posed a question on my Facebook page as to whether or not I should take it and what I should do instead. A very long thread followed. It was interesting that lots of people gave me very helpful advice, things to consider, pros and cons, etc. But very few actually gave me any ideas of WHAT they could see me doing instead, which was really the point of my question. Maybe I have been a Flight Attendant for so long - almost 30 years, and certainly most of my adult life - that no one can see me doing anything else. That's fine - that's how I see it as well. As 'turbulent' as things have become in our industry and in our company in particular, I really have no desire to leave this career unless I could actually retire and not work! However, I am not sure I could financially do that without returning to the US where the cost of living is often so much lower than the UK. And I am not sure I am ready to do that, although I have talked of that option for the years ahead.

However, one person on the Facebook thread wisely asked what Dolly's opinion was - whether I had asked her and what she said. Well, she finally told me.

I shall have to give this some more thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.