Looking Forward...

By Fiono

Scottish Tablet

Tablet is a very popular Scottish wedding favour and last Friday was no exception. It was nice to take a little bit of Scotland back to Switzerland with me.

The pangs of homesickness are coming thick and fast this week. As much as I have enjoyed having several relatively referendum free weeks being abroad, this seems to be THE week to be in Scotland. My Facebook feed is chock-ful of desperate posts from friends to sway opinion both ways and the images and videos from rallies and marches in all the cities make me just want to jump on a plane and be part of it!

The best thing I have seen is that Christians are meeting to pray and worship all over the country, even outside the Scottish Parliament building! As much as this is a vote for Scotland and its people, it is a vote for God's people and the furthering of his Kingdom. I have heard both outcomes presented with biblical backing and there is no clear winner. All we can do now is pray for the right decision, vote as convicted by the Spirit and that God would be glorified in the votes, the peaceful demonstrations and our attitude towards each other after the result.

I can't believe 18th September is tomorrow. We've talked about this date for two years. Two years and a partnership over 300 years old could be reversed in one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.