The allotment apple tree

I posted an entry on Tuesday showing the last apple, this was from the main big tree in our garden that has been a stalwart provider of apples all this time we've been in this house. It's a Worcester Permain, which is an early apple and its season is over very early.

A few years ago I bought a set of 3 fruit trees, a plum which I planted in the garden, a pear and an apple which I planted in waste ground nearby. This was my attempt at guerilla gardening whereby bits of unused land were commandered for growing crops. The trees never flourished and in fact the pear died. The apple survived and was moved to the allotment some 18 months ago. Last year there was no fruit but this year it has established itself and given a heavy crop, as has the pear tree next to it.

I spent quite a while down at the allotment, dealing with 4 weeks of weed growth, strimming the paths and harvesting. It doesn't appear that I accomplished very much when you look at it! But owing to the great late summer weather the last sowing of dwarf beans is very productive and there are still plenty of runner beans. Must get around to digging the remaining potatoes too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.