Green Heron at Millbrook Marsh

It was another beautiful September morning. I hadn't been to the Arboretum yet this week, so I stopped to check things out - and discovered a lovely little patch of mini sunflowers in the children's garden that I'll have to show you another day. On my way back from the Arboretum, I saw mist in the valley and knew just where I had to go: Millbrook Marsh. I couldn't shake the feeling that something special was waiting there, just for me.

And so I stopped really quickly at Millbrook. And what did I see as I stepped onto the bridge over Thompson's Run, but a heron-like bird, only smaller. Some of you may remember my thrill at finally capturing a decent photo of the blue heron that haunts these waters. Well, this new bird was heron-like, but much smaller than that. Travel-sized, for your convenience!

Of course the minute my feet hit the bridge, the bird was airborne. And so I watched it sail away above my head. In mere seconds, I was across the bridge and searching for the bird. I spotted its thick shape on the branch of a nearby tree, where it sat for just a few minutes, scanning the water for fish. I used the railing of the bridge to steady the camera for super-zooming and snagged a few shots, including this one.

Shortly, the bird was airborne again, and it flew down the waterway to the tree where the kingfisher usually sits. I spotted a shape that might have been the kingfisher, looking none too happy; and the kingfisher left quickly, as the green heron took over its favorite spot.

I understand that green herons are a bit unusual to see in my area, and quite shy. I've never seen one at Millbrook before, but I did see one at Muddy Paws Wetland a few months back. It was a delightful little bird and I hope to meet another one again someday! What a beautiful morning: full of gorgeous sunflowers . . . and one green heron.

The song for the day . . . well, much later on this day, my husband and I got to see the 80s supergroup ASIA in concert at the State Theatre in State College, and they were FANTASTIC. The line-up featured vocalist John Wetton (King Crimson), keyboardist Geoff Downes (Yes), and drummer Carl Palmer (Emerson, Lake, and Palmer). The original guitarist Steve Howe (Yes) was replaced last year by newcomer Sam Coulson.

What a show! I finally got to hear Wetton's soaring vocals in person, and he's lost almost nothing over the years. (And can you believe that it's been 32 years that I have waited for this moment!?) Needless to say, when he opened his mouth and that marvelous voice came out, it gave me absolute chills.

And Palmer did things with drums I've never even imagined humanly possible. Downes tickled the ivories with glee, and that kid Coulson (which is how I think of him, as "the kid") got in some great guitar licks. What a joy to watch a group of people who love what they are doing and are really good at it!

So the song for the day has to be an ASIA tune; maybe even more than one. I'm not aware that they have any songs about herons :-) but here are two of their best: ASIA, with one of their earliest hits, Heat of the Moment, the song they closed the show with (the version they sang absolutely rocked the house, but the link I'm including is to a lovely acoustic version). And ASIA, with a song that could have been about this absolutely beautiful day that I had: Days Like These. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.