Comfort Food

It is Election Day in New Zealand. The weather here this morning was pretty grim with heavy rain and cold temperatures. Not a nice day for anyone to venture out in in order to go and cast their vote. However the rain cleared after lunch and we enjoyed a fine, sunny afternoon.
Both Keith and I opted for casting our votes early this time. I voted a week ago so can sit back and relax….well sort of. I do feel for all those candidates who stood during this election…regardless of their party allegiances. This evening will be a very tense time for each of them especially as they will be exhausted from weeks, if not months, of intensive campaigning.
I made my usual Saturday morning visit to my favourite bakery. I buy delicious sunflower and pumpkin seed bread from them. In order to steer clear from the yummy comfort food in today’s image, I buy a healthy bran muffin. No doubt there will be plenty of folk all around the country glued to their radios or TVs and getting stuck into comfort food and drink this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.