Plus ça change...

By SooB

Gloomy

That early morning grab for my phone to check the result set the tone for a gloomy morning. The weather was appropriately grey and damp.

A stooshie at the senior B's was surprisingly resolved by my intervention, though the price was a trip to Matalan where TallGirl saved me by finding something she wanted to buy. Lunch at a pub, shopping, final visit of this trip to MrB's folks and off on the soggy road to Perth.

A grand meal out with a couple of MrB's school pals - with much chat about dashed hopes and Westminster slipperiness. And a load of other more fun stuff too. Lots of laughter.

Writing this on Saturday, I have the benefit and irritation of knowing that the Scottish independence campaign has turned out to be all about England after all. My country (I find I increasingly have to remind myself that the 'us' to which I am supposed to belong is England) is behaving like a spoilt child who hasn't been the centre of attention briefly and is shouting 'me me me'.

Ugly.

As were the scenes in Glasgow last night.

Rule Britannia? Not like this please

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.