weewilkie

By weewilkie

the dying day

This is a first for me. I've changed the day's blip.

I was suffering this morning. My brother came up last night and I drowned my sorrows about the referendum result. I feel asleep on the sofa. My son came through in the middle of the night and covered me up like a child.
So this morning I wasn't good. I took a picture in the house of some tomatoes and wrote a poem. My children were out with their friends and I slept a litttle more.
Later, just as all the children arrived home. The close buzzer went. I looked out the window and there was a sweet bride across the street, her fine dress glowing in the setting sun. It had been very wet at one point today and the sky was crazy clouded.
My mood lifted. I went out and down to the waterfront. There was a couple romantically walking along the harbour trying to take a selfie.
"Would you like me to take it? " I asked.
"Sure" they said.
I took the phone camera and threw it in the Clyde.
I directed them so the sun was on their hopeful, loved-up expressions.
We wished one another a lovely evening.
I took more pictures of this glorious dying light and the clouds in consternation and the water sparkling and the gulls flying. It gave me a wee lift.
So I found some beauty and hope in the dying light. I went home to a flat filled with happy children. I made tea.

Normality resides.

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.