weewilkie

By weewilkie

dreams make merry with the dawn

Restless in bed. Drifting from the dark room, into fragments of dreamlife, into the full tumble of images and incident. Consciousness dipping in and out of focus, from the external to the internal and back.
So I get up. We have almost spun back to the sun. Last week, about this time, I went out for a jog. Looking down the street to the silhouette of the tower at Glasgow Uni was the sun hung like a Chinese Lantern beside it. I didn't have my camera. I took a phone picture, it got snapped but was pretty noisy. Since then I've tried to capture that little moment. To bottle this firefly.

So out I go, but it is no use. Not only has the planet rotated this night, but it has also moved among the dark matter of space. We are moving away from the sun here at 55˚N. The sun is creeping south along the edge of the morning away from the Tower. The shot has gone for quite a few months.
I slapped about in my sandals, looking for some other silhouettes to capture this commitment out of my dreams and into the early dawn. This is what I got. Cranes and a lamppost trying to hook a star.
As the morning now rises those tumbling dreams burn away like mist and all I am left with is this image, the chill air in my lungs and the strengthening of the light. A good strong cup of coffee and the day ahead comes into focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.