such, such were the joys.

By Chaps100

Biker Flo.

I got my CBT today finally. Second time lucky.

I got it free as part of BSM's Ride Before You Drive experiment which is basically collecting data to see whether motorcyclists are better drivers than non bikers. And I'm in the biker group. It's good because it makes up for the £100 wasted on my last CBT, which to be honest was a bit of a scam. But I did have to leave home at five this morning to get to Croydon. That wasn't nice. Especially after last night. We ended up playing some board games and watching 21 Jump Street after everyone had left. I think I got about three hours sleep in the end, and in all honesty, I fell a little bit queasy. We had to drop Jake off this morning on our way through Horsham. I felt bad for him because he returned from Texas only a few days ago, so he was still quite heavily jet lagged and didn't manage to get any sleep at all.

Anyway, I was put on a 125 cc manual to start with. Which was a bit of a shock to me. Especially as I was the only girl in a group with two other men who were both doing it on automatic scooters. But apparently I was a natural at it and our instructor, Ben, said that I was the best he'd ever seen. So I was pretty chuffed. Although it was a bit scary going at 50mph with impatient drivers overtaking at every opportunity. I also managed to fall off once. That was embarrassing. But it was when we were doing U turns, so I only fell onto the grass and no one saw. I just don't understand slow maneuvers and clutch control; it's completely the opposite to cars so that doesn't help at all. He said that he nearly didn't let me have my certificate because I couldn't release the clutch very well. I must have convinced him somewhere.

Next stop. Full motorcycle licence and 2,000 cc. Bring it on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.