Naked

Didn't get much sleep last night. Sky TV on until the sun came up and a result announced. I truly hope this is the beginning of some fundamental change in the UK and for that we have to thank the Scots. Not sure I would have enjoyed being in their shoes standing in a booth with such a "straightforward" and historical X to make. Most of us have only ever had to make an X knowing it could be rectified in 4 or 5 years.

MrB had asked me to come around and help "re-dress" his tractor. He had spent the last week repainting the bodywork - the full bit: sanding rust protection and then paint. I couldn't imagine why he needed my help to lift the rear wheel fenders until I tried lifting one. Unbelievable. The two of us just managed to get the fender on top of the wheel before calling MrsB to help to hold it vertically and then lower down on to the rear axle. All went well & no scratches. Now looks very smart. MrB doesn't want a "factory" new look but likes a well maintained, clean machine. The tractor is not a museum piece and is used for various tasks.

Then did a bit on the bee project, again making their lives difficult. Couldn't do the finishing touches as I would have been on a ladder (I hate heights) and directly in the flight path. So again a delay. Have to wait for a cool day when they aren't flying.

In the evening MrB came by to inspect an old agricultural trailer I have offered him. It's a planned project standing around untouched for the last 12 years and I can't believe I will ever get around to it. It's an old muck spreader. All the wood parts are rotten but the metal frame is in very good shape. Once stripped down, it should make a good trailer for him in the forest, transporting tree logs. We pulled it out of the shed with my tractors front loader and with a lot of effort got one wheel off where the tyre is totally perished. He will use his connections next week to try and find a used good tyre. Once it's gone will have some valuable shed space to fill up with more unfinished projects!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.