Katy8

By Katy8

Sadhu Smile.............

Finally finding my feet after my recent travels. Sadly my Canon died during the trip, (interestingly enough during the night rather than in active use).......need to see what can be done about that. Returned home jet-laggged and a bit sick and completely done in so it will be a slow process sorting through the files and choosing those for Blip.
So this lovely Sadhu was at the Pashupatinath temple in Kathmandu. A sacred Hindu temple site which is on the river which later feeds into the Ganges. One side of this river is taken up by cremation sites and funeral ceremonies and the opposite with people who come to meet with priests and make offerings. It was interesting travel but also quite challenging on several levels.
Monkeys roam around , clambering over fences and walls and trying to steal from visitors, cattle wander through the site. It is bustling and subdued all at the same time.

I love travel photography.
However, I always find travel portraiture difficult.
I am the first to admit I am anxious about not wanting to intrude on my subjects. I will often settle for subtle portraits taken from behind, faces hidden.
So this trip, I stepped out of my comfort zone.....................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.