Forget-Me-Not

After some rain overnight today was mostly sunny.. I didn't got any further than my garden...so it may have been very cold! I just about put up a photo of our wonderful Rhododendrons as they are looking so good just now. This little Forget-Me-Not won out.


Did any one see the start of the new series on the rebuild of Christchurch this morning at 11:30am. This was the link I gave you the other day. I watched it and found really interesting. Today was the first episode of the six-part series at 11.30am on TV1 on Sunday. It is called Christchurch: From the Streets is exactly that: a street level view of us, four years on.


About the Forget-Me-Not

The most common shade that forget-me-nots can have is blue I did have some pink ones but they have died out now

Forget-me-nots are also known by the name myosotis. It’s a Greek derivative that means mouse’s ear. Also known as scorpion grass, forget-me-nots are poisonous. Its parts like the roots, the leaves, and the flowers are used to make treatments for nose bleeds and respiratory disorders. These are unproven uses for this poisonous plant. Forget-me-nots should never be taken internally. Its extract is for topical use. If people consumed this plant for long periods of time, it can cause liver cancer.

The flowers of forget-me-nots almost always have a story that relates to love. Mainly, if couples wore the forget-me-not as a garland, they would never be forgotten by their lovers.

Based on Christian lore, the story about forget-me-nots is that God was walking in the Garden of Eden. He saw a blue flower and asked it its name. The flower was a shy flower and whispered that he had forgotten his name. God renamed the flower as forget-me-not saying that He will not forget the flower.

As a story for lovers, forget-me-nots were first mentioned in a legend of a man and his sweetheart who were walking beside the River Danube. They saw the beautiful blue flowers that this plant had growing on an islet in the middle of the river. The man leapt into the water to get the blue flowers for his love. Although the current was strong, the man crossed the river safely and got the flowers. However, on his trip back to his sweetheart, he was swept away in the rapids. Before he completely disappeared, he threw the bouquet of forget-me-nots to his love and shouted forget-me-not. She wore these flowers on her hair until the day she died and never forgot about him.
For information on Forget-Me-Nots.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.