The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Time Machine

Isn't funny how certain objects just seem to "take you back in time".

Whilst we were in Cardiff on Monday I happened to notice this conker lying on the floor in Sophia Gardens car park. As soon as I picked it up my brain played a little internal movie of me and dad when I was little, collecting horse chestnuts from the grassy areas in the same car park. I don't really remember us throwing branches up at the laden tree to try and make the prickly seeds fall down to get at the booty within. I do remember watching smartly clad business men doing just that when I worked for John Menzies after I left school in 1987. They couldn't see me eating my lunch in my car, so thought that they were acting like kids without fear of embarrassment. It was really quite funny!

I remember playing conkers in school in the autumn, something I bet kids don't do now. I remember having a conker that went the whole of autumn unbeaten, and I never cheated by boiling them in vinegar! It was something like a "peggy-niner" by the time Christmas rolled around ...

Alas I have only the one conker, so I can't even challenge Dawn to a game, or anyone else, unless there is someone in Ton who wants to take me on!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.