Scribbler

By scribbler

Proclamation

The communion of saints hears the word of God at Trinity Cathedral.

The Gospel: "So the last will be first, and the first last." {Matthew 20:1-16]
This is a tricky parable.

Afterward at coffee hour a flash mob sang Alleluias.

---------------------

PRACTICE

There is proclamation, and there is revelation.
There is a message for all, and there is a message for each.

The message for me today was the reminder that it's important to come to church even when I don't feel like it so that when the service has a special blessing for me I will be there to receive it. This is the nature of a spiritual practice. In the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali tells us to practice earnestly and faithfully for a long time. The blessings don't necessarily come overnight (though they might). My job is to show up, participate with focus, trust the process, and keep coming back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.