Scribbler

By scribbler

In a glass darkly

Glass cross on a glass mirror.

Now we see as in a glass darkly, but then we shall see face to face.
-- St. Paul


I spent some time this afternoon saying goodbye to my friend M who is close to death. She can no longer speak or communicate or lift a hand. I read her a poem, "Death is a Door." I prayed for her and her devoted husband, who sat with us. I spoke words of encouragement and assured her of my prayers. One thing that remains to her, like the Cheshire Cat, is her beautiful smile. We looked into each other's eyes and smiled for a long time. I feel I have been in a holy place.

When you read this, please send love to M.
Even if you don't think it will make a difference.
I promise you, it will help.
It might even help you.

GLASS: DDW September 21 challenge
(iPhone flash, SOOC cropped + b&w.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.