Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Hard to handle

I took a similar shot yesterday but it lost out to the palmettos. So it was back to the Good Shepherd Church, on Park Street, Riverside, today for a second take.

The Good Shepherd Church is Episcopal and, with its neo-gothic style, reminds me of 19th Century suburban churches back in England. It is certainly a lot different from some churches in the Dallas/Fort Worth area of Texas, where I lived for seven years, which look like a wholesale carpet store with a cross stuck on top.

The title Hard to Handle comes from the Otis Redding track on the 1968 album of the same name. Hard to Handle was also covered by the Grateful Dead and featured prominently in set lists from the late 1960s and early 1970s, with Ron 'Pigpen' McKernan doing the vocal honors until is death in 1973.

Now I have gone and given my age away.

Zeiss Planar T* ZE 1,4/50.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.